In this Autumn edition of the Charity Update:

  • The launch of our new BWB Get Legal service – an online resource for purchasing affordable, bespoke legal documents, introduced by Thea Longley and Lucinda Ellen.
  • Fundraising practices have been the subject of intense scrutiny in recent months. Christine Rigby summarises the current situation, while Leticia Jennings examines the complexities for charities when left a gift of shares.
  • The digital world is increasingly integral to the successful running of charities. Onboard’s Tesse Akpeki argues that boards should do more to exploit the opportunities of new technology and Catharina Waller discusses some of the issues arising for charities from the release of new domain names.
  • Charity Commission’s new guide on the duties of trustees – a must-read, says Leona Roche – and Pippa Garland and Chinonso Denwigwe look at the implications of recent legislation on charities and social enterprises.
  • In good news for the sector, a recent case provides encouragement for service providers looking to challenge a procurement decision, according to Selman Ansari and Claire Whittle.
  • In less good news, the introduction of the Prevent duty, which requires a wide range of organisations to tackle radicalisation, is likely to require extensive changes to policies and procedures, explains Ayden Peach, while in his regular tax update, Bill Lewis discusses changes to HMRC’s approach to charity mailings that may incur significant VAT charges.
  • Luke Fletcher and Louise Harman discuss the B Corp movement which introduces new standards of social and environmental performance for companies; and Martin Bunch explains why BWB has become the first UK law firm to be certified as a B Corp.
  • Sarah Butler-Sloss, chair of BWB client the Ashden Trust, introduces the Divest Invest movement.
  • John Hodge and Alan Gilfillan of Balfour+Manson look at the situation in Scotland and we provide the regular round-up of news from the Charity Commission and Charity Tribunal.

Click here to view the e-magazine version.

Click here to download the PDF version.


Bill Lewis photo

Bill Lewis

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7830 / 07979 606 190

E
b.lewis@bwbllp.com
View full information about Bill Lewis
Catharina Waller photo

Catharina Waller

Trade Mark and Patent Attorney

T
+44(0)20 7551 7701

E
C.Waller@bwbllp.com
View full information about Catharina Waller
Chinonso Denwigwe photo

Chinonso Denwigwe

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7769

E
c.denwigwe@bwbllp.com
View full information about Chinonso Denwigwe
Christine Rigby photo

Christine Rigby

Senior Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7712

E
c.rigby@bwbllp.com
View full information about Christine Rigby
Claire Whittle photo

Claire Whittle

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7605

E
c.whittle@bwbllp.com
View full information about Claire Whittle
Leona Roche photo

Leona Roche

Senior Associate and Joint Head of Faith-Based Organisations

T
+44(0)20 7551 7736

E
l.roche@bwbllp.com
View full information about Leona Roche
Leticia Jennings photo

Leticia Jennings

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7657 / 07791 883095

E
l.jennings@bwbllp.com
View full information about Leticia Jennings
Louise Harman (née Saunderson) photo

Louise Harman (née Saunderson)

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7679

E
l.harman@bwbllp.com
View full information about Louise Harman (née Saunderson)
Luke Fletcher photo

Luke Fletcher

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7750

E
l.fletcher@bwbllp.com
View full information about Luke Fletcher
Martin Bunch photo

Martin Bunch

Managing Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7737

E
m.bunch@bwbllp.com
View full information about Martin Bunch
Pippa  Garland photo

Pippa Garland

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7779

E
p.garland@bwbllp.com
View full information about Pippa Garland
Tesse Akpeki photo

Tesse Akpeki

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7702

E
t.akpeki@bwbllp.com
View full information about Tesse Akpeki
Thea Longley photo

Thea Longley

Partner and Head of Membership Organisations

T
+44(0)20 7551 7796

E
t.longley@bwbllp.com
View full information about Thea Longley

Posted on 28/09/2015 in Legal Updates

Back to Knowledge