In the Summer edition of the Charity & Social Enterprise Update:

  • Stephanie Biden and Sinead Corcoran outline the issues now that Article 50 has been triggered, specifically relating to organisations wanting to retain a presence in the EU and maintain funding.
  • Trade marks law is harmonised throughout the EU, so clients may be worried about the impact of Brexit on their brands. But Mathew Healey says it's not all bad news for UK trade marks owners.
  • Gillian Roche-Saunders and Oliver Hunt explain what crowdfunding is and how charities can benefit from this method of raising funds.
  • In our regular update on fundraising developments, Lawrence Simanowitz discusses recent guidance from the Fundraising Regulator and the Information Commissioner’s Office alongside the current focus on wealth screening and the legality of opt-out consent.
  • Leticia Jennings highlights how legacy fundraising has hit the headlines recently with the resolution of the Ilott v Mitson case and the challenges to charity legacies being on the rise.
  • Amanda Ogilvie explains how charities registered in England and Wales that wish to carry out activities in Scotland need to be aware of the requirements for registration with the OSCR.
  • The Charity Commission has warned against the use of cash couriers to send funds overseas, and Augustus Della-Porta urges caution.
  • The use of cash couriers is just one among many risks that charities should manage: Huw Evans gives his top tips for identifying and managing your organisation’s risks.
  • Education specialist Caraline Johnson looks at mergers in the FE sector.
  • Our governance expert Tesse Akpeki explains the benefits of values-driven leadership.
  • Our tax expert, Bill Lewis, looks at the Gift Aid Small Charitable Donations Scheme that promised fireworks but has delivered a damp squib.
  • Emma Knuckey reports on the latest developments at the Charity Commission and Charity Tribunal.

Please click here to read the e-version of this update.

Please click here to download the PDF version of this update.


Amanda Ogilvie photo

Amanda Ogilvie

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7789

E
a.ogilvie@bwbllp.com
View full information about Amanda Ogilvie
Augustus Della-Porta photo

Augustus Della-Porta

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7750

E
a.della-porta@bwbllp.com
View full information about Augustus Della-Porta
Bill Lewis photo

Bill Lewis

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7830 / 07979 606 190

E
b.lewis@bwbllp.com
View full information about Bill Lewis
Caraline Johnson photo

Caraline Johnson

Head of Education

T
+44(0)20 7551 7674

E
c.johnson@bwbllp.com
View full information about Caraline Johnson
Emma Knuckey photo

Emma Knuckey

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7790

E
e.knuckey@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Knuckey
Gillian Roche-Saunders photo

Gillian Roche-Saunders

Partner & Head of BWB Compliance

T
+44(0)20 7551 7876

E
g.roche-saunders@bwbllp.com
View full information about Gillian Roche-Saunders
Lawrence Simanowitz photo

Lawrence Simanowitz

Charity Partner, Head of Culture + Creative

T
+44(0)20 7551 7796

E
l.simanowitz@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lawrence Simanowitz
Leticia Jennings photo

Leticia Jennings

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7657 / 07791 883095

E
l.jennings@bwbllp.com
View full information about Leticia Jennings
Mathew Healey photo

Mathew Healey

Head of IP and Trade Marks

T
+44(0)20 7551 7637

E
m.healey@bwbllp.com
View full information about Mathew Healey
Oliver Hunt photo

Oliver Hunt

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7629

E
o.hunt@bwbllp.com
View full information about Oliver Hunt
Sinead Corcoran photo

Sinead Corcoran

Senior Paralegal

T
+44(0)20 7551 7672

E
s.corcoran@bwbllp.com
View full information about Sinead Corcoran
Stephanie Biden photo

Stephanie Biden

Partner and Joint Head of Faith-Based Organisations

T
+44(0)20 7551 7730

E
s.biden@bwbllp.com
View full information about Stephanie Biden
Tesse Akpeki photo

Tesse Akpeki

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7702

E
t.akpeki@bwbllp.com
View full information about Tesse Akpeki

Posted on 02/06/2017 in Legal Updates

Back to Knowledge