Organisations are increasingly aware of the requirements of data privacy and information law. The General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) has brought data protection issues front and centre for all organisations whether businesses or non-profits.  Our clients need experts who understand the law’s requirements and are aware of regulator guidance and industry practice.

We have a strong and growing team of dedicated data privacy lawyers (led by prominent data protection specialist Victoria Hordern) who can provide practical guidance to organisations facing the new landscape under the GDPR.  Bates Wells also has specific expertise in advising organisations on the Freedom of Information Act 2000, and other legal disciplines related to data privacy including intellectual property, technology and media law.

Our Services

We advise small and large organisations, both commercial and charitable, as well as individuals, on a wide range of issues including:

  • Strategies for compliance with the GDPR
  • Controller/ processor agreements and all other types of data sharing arrangements
  • Privacy Notices and Data Protection Policies
  • Lawful bases such as consent and legitimate interest
  • Compliance with marketing rules including e-marketing and guidance for organisations registered with the Fundraising Regulator
  • Mechanisms for international data transfers whether one-off or ongoing data transfers within small and global organisations
  • Data Protection Impact Assessments
  • ICO investigations and monetary penalty notices
  • Use of children’s data
  • Using personal data for prospecting
  • Responding to data security breaches (including rapid responses where issues are urgent)
  • Responding to enquiries and investigations from data protection authorities
  • Dealing with requests from individuals’ exercising their rights to their personal data
  • Use of employee personal data including monitoring, whistleblowing schemes and the roll out of specific tools
  • Providing targeted training to help individuals understand the GDPR and their obligations
  • Advising on all matters connected with the Freedom of Information Act including ICO investigations and conduct of tribunal cases.

Alex Jameson photo

Alex Jameson

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7656

E
a.jameson@bwbllp.com
View full information about Alex Jameson
Anna Przewoznik photo

Anna Przewoznik

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7602

E
a.przewoznik@bwbllp.com
View full information about Anna Przewoznik
Caraline Johnson photo

Caraline Johnson

Head of Education

T
+44(0)20 7551 7674

E
c.johnson@bwbllp.com
View full information about Caraline Johnson
Hannah Lyons photo

Hannah Lyons

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7845

E
h.lyons@bwbllp.com
View full information about Hannah Lyons
Lawrence Simanowitz photo

Lawrence Simanowitz

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7796

E
l.simanowitz@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lawrence Simanowitz
Lucas Atkin photo

Lucas Atkin

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7600

E
l.atkin@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lucas Atkin
Mark Abbott photo

Mark Abbott

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7714

E
m.abbott@bwbllp.com
View full information about Mark Abbott
Melanie Carter photo

Melanie Carter

Partner and Head of Public & Regulatory

T
+44(0)20 7551 7615

E
m.carter@bwbllp.com
View full information about Melanie Carter
Molly Waiting photo

Molly Waiting

Associate

T
+44(0) 020 7551 7675

E
m.waiting@bwbllp.com
View full information about Molly Waiting
Paul Seath photo

Paul Seath

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7703

E
p.seath@bwbllp.com
View full information about Paul Seath
Richard Marke photo

Richard Marke

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7641 / +44(0)7785 627635

E
r.marke@bwbllp.com
View full information about Richard Marke
Rupert Earle photo

Rupert Earle

Partner and Head of Media Litigation

T
+44(0)20 7551 7609

E
r.earle@bwbllp.com
View full information about Rupert Earle
Victoria Hordern photo

Victoria Hordern

Head of Data Privacy

T
+44(0)20 7551 7951

E
v.hordern@bwbllp.com
View full information about Victoria Hordern