In the Spring edition of the Charity & Social Enterprise Update:

  • The Charity Commission has recently updated its guidance on reporting serious incidents. Rosamund McCarthy and Rebecca Bruce summarise the key aspects of the new guidance.
  • Since January 2018 it has been possible for charitable companies to convert to charitable organisations. Alice Railton outlines the pros and cons of conversion.
  • If you thought trekking up Mount Kilimanjaro was hard, try dealing with the legal, regulatory and tax issues that can arise when charities get involved with challenge events. Victoria Schneider discusses her top tips for charities thinking about challenge events.
  • In September 2017, the Institute of Fundraising (IoF) launched a new Certification Programme for public fundraising across the UK. Daniel Fluskey, Head of Policy and Research at the IoF explains more.
  • Income from legacies now represents a quarter of the total amount given to charities each year, and is predicted to rise. Leticia Jennings reviews the current issues in charity legacies.
  • Charities and social enterprises need to ensure that data on employees, as well as their beneficiaries and supporters is held in line with GDPR. Paul Seath and Damian Ward outline the key issues for employers.
  • Charities may be deterred from pursuing judicial review proceedings by the costs involved. Emma Dowden-Teal and Francesca Gage explain how crowdfunding can provide a solution.
  • We announce our new Charity Hub, aiming to be opened May 2018.
  • South West Heritage Trust is featured as the client focus for this edition.
  • The Law Commission has published a detailed report recommending changes to technical areas of charity law. Lucy Rhodes and Jamie Huard summarise the proposals.
  • Charities are not immune to the increasing counterfeiting trend. Catharina Waller explains how charities can best protect themselves.
  • Mindy Jhittay explains how to prevent property fraud, and how to recover funds lost to fraud.
  • Charities and social enterprises involved in joint bids for government funding need to be alert to the constraints of competition law. Lindsay Draffan outlines the risks.
  • In November 2017 a package of new tax reliefs was introduced to encourage investment in sport. Thea Longely and Bill Lewis explain the details of tax reliefs - and the small print.
  • The recent BoardSource Leadership Conference explored strategies for healthy governance. Tesse Akpeki shares eight lessons from the conference.
  • Claudia Burger and Katie Barnes explain the importance of embedding impact in the governance process.
  • Emma Knuckey and Caroline van den Bergh report on recent developments at the Charity Commission and in the Charity Tribunal.

Please click here to read the e-version of this update.

Please click here to download the PDF version of this update.


Bill Lewis photo

Bill Lewis

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7830 / 07979 606 190

E
b.lewis@bwbllp.com
View full information about Bill Lewis
Caroline van den Bergh photo

Caroline van den Bergh

Senior Paralegal

T
+44(0)207 551 7775

E
C.vandenBergh@bwbllp.com
View full information about Caroline van den Bergh
Catharina Waller photo

Catharina Waller

Trade Mark and Patent Attorney

T
+44(0)20 7551 7701

E
C.Waller@bwbllp.com
View full information about Catharina Waller
Claudia  Burger  photo

Claudia Burger

Analyst

T
+44(0)20 7551 7717

E
c.burger@bwbllp.com
View full information about Claudia Burger
Damian Ward photo

Damian Ward

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7905

E
d.ward@bwbllp.com
View full information about Damian Ward
Emma Dowden-Teale photo

Emma Dowden-Teale

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7890

E
e.dowden-teale@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Dowden-Teale
Emma Knuckey photo

Emma Knuckey

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7790

E
e.knuckey@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Knuckey
Jamie Huard photo

Jamie Huard

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7866

E
j.huard@bwbllp.com
View full information about Jamie Huard
Katie Barnes photo

Katie Barnes

Senior Manager, Advisory and Impact

T
+44(0)20 7551 7727

E
k.barnes@bwbllp.com
View full information about Katie Barnes
Leticia Jennings photo

Leticia Jennings

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7657 / 07791 883095

E
l.jennings@bwbllp.com
View full information about Leticia Jennings
Lindsay Draffan photo

Lindsay Draffan

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7814

E
l.draffan@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lindsay Draffan
Lucy Rhodes photo

Lucy Rhodes

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7604

E
l.rhodes@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lucy Rhodes
Melinder Jhittay photo

Melinder Jhittay

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7853

E
m.jhittay@bwbllp.com
View full information about Melinder Jhittay
Paul Seath photo

Paul Seath

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7703

E
p.seath@bwbllp.com
View full information about Paul Seath
Rosamund McCarthy photo

Rosamund McCarthy

Charity Partner and joint head of Politics, Elections and Campaigning

T
+44(0)20 7551 7819

E
r.mccarthy@bwbllp.com
View full information about Rosamund McCarthy
Tesse Akpeki photo

Tesse Akpeki

Lead Governance Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7702

E
t.akpeki@bwbllp.com
View full information about Tesse Akpeki
Thea Longley photo

Thea Longley

Partner and Head of Membership Organisations

T
+44(0)20 7551 7796

E
t.longley@bwbllp.com
View full information about Thea Longley
Victoria Schneider photo

Victoria Schneider

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7796

E
v.schneider@bwbllp.com
View full information about Victoria Schneider

Posted on 20/02/2018 in BWB Publications

Back to Knowledge