In this edition of our Faith-Based Organisations update:

  • The Charity Governance Code is a useful tool for achieving excellent governance, and for helping faith-based organisations to thrive. Leona Roche and Tesse Akpeki highlight its key principles.
  • David Coulthard introduces the St Mary's Hospital Almshouses charity and forthcoming changes.
  • Louise Rea discusses the Court of Appeal's conclusions that segregating boys and girls can cause detriment under the Equality Act 2010, and it's ramifications for faith schools.
  • Tim Barnden and Aisha Choudhry explain the complexities for faith-based organisations wishing to employ ministers or missionaries from outside the EU.
  • Charity is central to Islam, with three main forms of giving being core to the faith. Augustus Della-Porta explains the concept of waqf and its origins.
  • Katie Harrison, Director of the Faith Research Centre, introduces its work.
  • Lucas Atkin outlines the new provisions under GDPR, highlighting that faith-based organisations need to be up to speed on its requirements.
  • The ownership of properties by faith communities needs to be clear so as to avoid conflict or confusion when changes occur. Holly Terry and Will Scott explain the issues that arise, and how to avoid problems.
  • Lucy McLynn explains why its time to revisit the topic of occupational requirements and the cardinal rules to apply.
  • Augustus Della-Porta shares his personal faith journey.
  • Philippa Masters provides a case and Charity Commission roundup.

Please contact the Faith-Based team if you have questions about the issues covered in this update.

Please click here to read the e-version

Please click here to download the PDF version


Stephanie Biden photo

Stephanie Biden

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7730

E
s.biden@bwbllp.com
View full information about Stephanie Biden
Augustus Della-Porta photo

Augustus Della-Porta

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7607

E
a.della-porta@bwbllp.com
View full information about Augustus Della-Porta
Lucy McLynn photo

Lucy McLynn

Partner and Head of Employment

T
+44(0)20 7551 7806

E
l.mclynn@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lucy McLynn
Leona Roche photo

Leona Roche

Senior Associate and Joint Head of Faith-Based Organisations

T
+44(0)20 7551 7736

E
l.roche@bwbllp.com
View full information about Leona Roche
Aisha Choudhry photo

Aisha Choudhry

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7812

E
a.choudhry@bwbllp.com
View full information about Aisha Choudhry
Louise Rea photo

Louise Rea

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7799

E
l.rea@bwbllp.com
View full information about Louise Rea
Lucas Atkin photo

Lucas Atkin

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7600

E
l.atkin@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lucas Atkin
Tesse Akpeki photo

Tesse Akpeki

Lead Governance Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7702

E
t.akpeki@bwbllp.com
View full information about Tesse Akpeki
Tim Barnden photo

Tim Barnden

Partner and Head of Immigration

T
+44(0)20 7551 7612

E
t.barnden@bwbllp.com
View full information about Tim Barnden
William Scott photo

William Scott

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7855

E
w.scott@bwbllp.com
View full information about William Scott

Posted on 22/02/2018 in BWB Publications

Back to Knowledge