In the Summer edition of the Charity & Social Enterprise Update:

  • Lucas Atkin and Victoria Hordern have some useful tips for charities on being ready for the GDPR, which comes into force in May.
  • Emma Dowden-Teale and Claire Whittle explain that charities need to be aware that they are being held to a far wider interpretation of 'safeguarding' than that strictly prescribed by law.
  • Employee references can be a minefield, say Lucy McLynn and Victoria Cook, but it is important to be consistent in your approach to avoid accusations of discrimination.
  • Mindy Jhittay answers your questions about social engineering fraud.
  • Suhan Rajkumar explains recent changes to the Charity Commission annual return.
  • We feature the National Federation of Women's Institutes.
  • On the Charity Governance Code, Tesse Akpeki stresses the importance of board diversity.
  • Rachael Chapman looks at the recommendation of a trustee code of conduct.
  • Oliver Scutt explains the new provisions on automatic disqualification of charity trustees and senior managers.
  • Emma Knuckey and Megan Read review the impact of the Charity Commission's new regulatory powers.
  • Molly Carew-Jones and Hannah Lyons explore the growing popularity of society lotteries to raise funds.
  • Philip Trott  looks at immigration issues as we approach Brexit.
  • In our tax focus, Bill Lewis explains HMRC's approach to the distinction between grants and fees.
  • Bill Lewis and Susan Shi give an update on the accounting rules for gifts of profit from trading subsidiaries.
  • Emma Knuckey provides a useful roundup of the latest from the Charity Commission and the Chairty Tribunal.

Please click here to read the e-version of this update.

Please click here to download the PDF version of this update.


Bill Lewis photo

Bill Lewis

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7830 / 07979 606 190

E
b.lewis@bwbllp.com
View full information about Bill Lewis
Claire Whittle photo

Claire Whittle

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7605

E
c.whittle@bwbllp.com
View full information about Claire Whittle
Emma Dowden-Teale photo

Emma Dowden-Teale

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7890

E
e.dowden-teale@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Dowden-Teale
Emma Knuckey photo

Emma Knuckey

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7790

E
e.knuckey@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Knuckey
Hannah Lyons photo

Hannah Lyons

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7845

E
h.lyons@bwbllp.com
View full information about Hannah Lyons
Lucas Atkin photo

Lucas Atkin

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7600

E
l.atkin@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lucas Atkin
Lucy McLynn photo

Lucy McLynn

Partner and Head of Employment

T
+44(0)20 7551 7806

E
l.mclynn@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lucy McLynn
Megan Read photo

Megan Read

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7835

E
m.read@bwbllp.com
View full information about Megan Read
Melinder Jhittay photo

Melinder Jhittay

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7853

E
m.jhittay@bwbllp.com
View full information about Melinder Jhittay
Molly Carew-Jones photo

Molly Carew-Jones

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7677

E
m.carew-jones@bwbllp.com
View full information about Molly Carew-Jones
Oliver Hunt photo

Oliver Hunt

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7629

E
o.hunt@bwbllp.com
View full information about Oliver Hunt
Philip Trott photo

Philip Trott

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7652

E
p.trott@bwbllp.com
View full information about Philip Trott
Rachael Chapman photo

Rachael Chapman

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7626

E
r.chapman@bwbllp.com
View full information about Rachael Chapman
Suhan Rajkumar photo

Suhan Rajkumar

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7718

E
s.rajkumar@bwbllp.com
View full information about Suhan Rajkumar
Tesse Akpeki photo

Tesse Akpeki

Lead Governance Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7702

E
t.akpeki@bwbllp.com
View full information about Tesse Akpeki
Victoria Cook photo

Victoria Cook

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7806

E
v.cook@bwbllp.com
View full information about Victoria Cook
Victoria Hordern photo

Victoria Hordern

Head of Data Privacy

T
+44(0)20 7551 7951

E
v.hordern@bwbllp.com
View full information about Victoria Hordern

Posted on 15/05/2018 in BWB Publications

Back to Knowledge