In the Autumn edition of the Charity & Social Enterprise Update:

  • With safeguarding issues continuing to make headlines, Emma Dowden-Teale summarise the latest guidance for charities.
  • As Brexit looms closer, Matthew James reports on the immigration status of EU nationals and Lucas Atkin outlines the uncertain future for data protection.
  • Mindy Jhittay continues her series on charity fraud, looking at identifying and dealing with insider fraud.
  • Lucy McLynn and Thérèse Rankin advise on how best to seek references for potential employees.
  • We show you some of our recent initiatives such as our new Charity Hub and a new free service for campaigning charities.
  • As work patterns and employee expectations of the workplace change, William Scott looks at the office of the future.
  • In our client focus, Lawrence Simanowitz looks at the work of Samaritans.
  • Charities need to be aware of new regulations on running challenge events, Hannah Lyons summarises the changes.
  • Simon Steeden and Caroline van den Bergh discuss the principles which apply to grant-making to non-charitable organisations.
  • Catharina Waller explains what can go wrong if charity trade marks are not properly protected.
  • David Hunter is doubtful that the government's Social Value Act announcements are as good as they seem.
  • There's a reminder from Melanie Carter and Alistair Williams that a modern slavery statement is required for larger charities.
  • In our regular governance focus, Tesse Akpeki advises on how to have difficult conversations.
  • Bill Lewis has some good news on VAT.
  • Emma Knuckey and Rachael Southern report on the latest from the Charity Commission and the Charity Tribunal.

Please click here to read the e-version of this update.

Please click here to download the PDF version of this update.

 


Melanie Carter photo

Melanie Carter

Partner and Head of Public & Regulatory

T
+44(0)20 7551 7615

E
m.carter@bwbllp.com
View full information about Melanie Carter
Emma Dowden-Teale photo

Emma Dowden-Teale

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7890

E
e.dowden-teale@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Dowden-Teale
Lucy McLynn photo

Lucy McLynn

Partner and Head of Employment

T
+44(0)20 7551 7806

E
l.mclynn@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lucy McLynn
Lawrence Simanowitz photo

Lawrence Simanowitz

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7796

E
l.simanowitz@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lawrence Simanowitz
Simon Steeden photo

Simon Steeden

Partner

T
+44(0)20 7551 7782

E
s.steeden@bwbllp.com
View full information about Simon Steeden
Catharina Waller photo

Catharina Waller

Trade Mark and Patent Attorney

T
+44(0)20 7551 7701

E
C.Waller@bwbllp.com
View full information about Catharina Waller
Alistair Williams photo

Alistair Williams

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7743

E
a.williams@bwbllp.com
View full information about Alistair Williams
Bill Lewis photo

Bill Lewis

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7830 / 07979 606 190

E
b.lewis@bwbllp.com
View full information about Bill Lewis
Caroline van den Bergh photo

Caroline van den Bergh

Senior Paralegal

T
+44(0)207 551 7775

E
C.vandenBergh@bwbllp.com
View full information about Caroline van den Bergh
David Hunter photo

David Hunter

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7684

E
d.hunter@bwbllp.com
View full information about David Hunter
Emma Knuckey photo

Emma Knuckey

Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7790

E
e.knuckey@bwbllp.com
View full information about Emma Knuckey
Hannah Lyons photo

Hannah Lyons

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7845

E
h.lyons@bwbllp.com
View full information about Hannah Lyons
Lucas Atkin photo

Lucas Atkin

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7600

E
l.atkin@bwbllp.com
View full information about Lucas Atkin
Matthew James photo

Matthew James

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7659

E
m.james@bwbllp.com
View full information about Matthew James
Melinder Jhittay photo

Melinder Jhittay

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7853

E
m.jhittay@bwbllp.com
View full information about Melinder Jhittay
Rachael Southern photo

Rachael Southern

Solicitor

T
+44(0)20 7551 7894

E
r.southern@bwbllp.com
View full information about Rachael Southern
Tesse Akpeki photo

Tesse Akpeki

Lead Governance Consultant

T
+44(0)20 7551 7702

E
t.akpeki@bwbllp.com
View full information about Tesse Akpeki
Thérèse  Rankin  photo

Thérèse Rankin

Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7891

E
t.rankin@bwbllp.com
View full information about Thérèse Rankin
William Scott photo

William Scott

Senior Associate

T
+44(0)20 7551 7855

E
w.scott@bwbllp.com
View full information about William Scott

Posted on 18/09/2018 in BWB Publications

Back to Knowledge